精益目标成本解决方案

  • 2016年5月 白皮书

使用测量法去驱动和维持品质性能, 从而提高实现组织战略目标的可能性.

耶鲁大学管理学院

现在全球制造商都面临日益激烈的竞争带来的巨大压力. 销售价格和利润空间不断缩小迫使制造商不断寻求降低成本和浪费的方法, 从而达到降低和更低的制造成本.

节省人力成本是最明显的以降低整体产品成本的一种方法. 所以是外包. 但随着这些做法成为标准的操作模式, 门槛再次被提高, 现在制造商转向其他两个优胜劣汰的战场 - 创造力和精益.

精益制造被定义为以下所有: JIT (及时制造), Kanban (调度系统), Kai’zen (持续提高), 消灭故障,消除一切浪费, 零缺陷和零库存.

  1. 制造业中成本的因素.
  2. 挑战规划精益制造.
  3. 精益目标成本管理系统怎样去衡量精益.

制造业中成本的因素

每个过程每个流程半成品的成本结构和最终产品的成本y可如下表示:

每‘六个成本要素’包含技术/运营测量和等价成本测量. 例如, 去计算技术/运营成本指数和为每个进程的成品和流程半成品产生下方表中的关系是有可能的. 每个产品在制造过程中经过多个流程, 中间过程中半成品引起的任何损失会同时导致整个流程的累积损失增大.

每个流程半成品的成本 (例子) $6.74 备注
前阶段成本 $5.07 以前工艺阶段的增值费用.
直接人工成本 $0.20 操作员, 检查员, 技术员, 监事.
直接生产费用 $0.13 加工和机器中使用的电力和气体能源.
生产物质损失 $0.04 损坏, 过期, 浪费了, 溢出, 残余.
生产物料成本 $0.30 每件制品中使用的材料的实际成本.
机械性能损失 $0.14 放慢速度, 产生了频繁故障和自动化系统中设置时间和堵塞导致减少的输出.
流程产量损失 $0.18 由于不符合质量标准的报废.
生产管理费用 $0.35 折旧, 维修及保养, 间接工作人员, 楼层出租, 房产税, 间接的生产材料等等
工厂管理费 $0.33 行政和管理人员的间接费用.

挑战规划精益制造

一个典型的场景, 制造商XZ董事总经理向员工们宣布, 他们的总产品成本必须在未来3年内每年下降8%, 从而使公司可以实现整体削减成本8%的目标.

这个董事总经理的要求带来一阵沉默, 因为没有一个部门主管可以保证他们可以做到, 除了裁员或者削减修理和维护的预算外, 也没有具体的降低成本的举措.

在另一方面, 下面列出的许多重要的技术/运营成本降低措施都不容易兑换成成本.

  • 通过改善工艺产量百分比去减少废料.
  • 通过减少故障, 设置, 阻塞等增加了机器正常运行时间.
  • 在生产过程中减少材料消耗量.
  • 改善某些流程的耗能效率.
  • 改善的进程流量并减少循环时间.

结果是, 精益项目的规划在满足预算目标方面做得不够具体. 他们往往只能继续在其有关的技术/业务措施方面去表达. 在达到降低成本的最终目标的影响也很少可以得到验证.

特别是在成熟的行业环境中, 竞争越来越激烈, 那些明显的或者所谓"挂在低处的水果"已经用尽了. 制造商在改进以及进一步降低成本的竞争中江郎才尽了. 但使用精益目标成本管理系统可以帮助制造商发现那些通常不明显的"挂在高处的水果".

精益目标成本管理系统怎样去衡量精益

精益目标成本管理系统是精益制造规划的软件解决方案. 现在的企业资源规划(ERP)和制造资源计划(MRP)的解决方案为制造商提供了有效和高效的方案将财务、业务等流程与生产计划和库存控制整合. 精益目标成本管理系统是一个实现持续改进计划的软件, 它为生产商们提供更强的能力去计划有效降低成本和改善项目资源从而实现精益生产.

任何制造商都可以使用精益目标成本管理系统去实现企业级的产品成本降低的持续改进规划.

它把产品总成本分解为等效的进程级明细技术和操作的有关费用 - a) 整机性能 b) 材料使用 c) 经营费用 d) 能源消耗 e) 劳动效率 不足.

精益目标成本管理系统通过会计和业务部门取得数据. 不过根据不同行业类型所需的, 一些定制输入时必须的. 但软件流程引擎是通用的.

它是基于互联网或企业内联网的, 所以为企业中的每个人(高层, 中层和低层管理人员和工程师)提供获得准确的产品成本信息的机会, 这些信息涉及到详细的过程级的技术和业务. 从而促进了整个组织机构的调整, 实现了精益.

精益目标成本管理系统有三个步骤. 步骤一, 用过友好界面用户可以方便地输入一个由售价,利润率%,会计和业务数据组成的标准集.

步骤二, 精益目标成本管理系统流程引擎通过分析输入数据以产生企业级别和进程级别信息的报告. 这些报告把每个进程相关成本/技术/运营指标联系在一起. 这样经理,主管和工程师就可以通过这些关键信息去进行详细的和有意义的计划, 其中包括:

  • 有选择地改善影响较大的项目, 以达到降低成本的目标.
  • 为每个被选定改善的项目确定关键的改进概念.
  • 为每个所选项目和预期降低成本的潜力定量改善目标(以技术或操作指标).

通过输入这些改进指标到精益目标成本管理系统, 我们可以模拟成本降低策略对进程成本和整体产品成本的影响.

精益目标成本管理系统是实时运行的. 每个月从会计, 运营和项目团队输入数据后, 系统会以集成的相关的方式发布最新当前月份的成本/操作/技术/项目团队的计算结果.

精益目标成本对比

全面生产维护中的3个目标成本

The LEAN Target Costing Solution

  • White Paper May 2016

Using measurements to drive and sustain quality performance improves the probability of achieving the organization’s strategic objectives.

Yale School of Management

Manufacturers worldwide today face tremendous pressures brought about by increasing competition. The steady erosion of selling prices and shrinking profit margins force manufacturers to continuously seek to cut costs and wastes so as to achieve lower and still lower manufacturing costs.

Saving on labor costs is one of the most obvious ways to reduce overall Product costs. And so is out-sourcing. But as these practices become the standard operational mode, the ground is leveled again and manufacturers turn to the other two battlegrounds for determining the survival of the fittest - Creativity and LEAN.

LEAN Manufacturing has been defined as the sum total of JIT (Just-In-Time), Kanban (Pull system), Kai’zen (Continuous Improvement), Zero Defects, Zero Breakdowns, Zero accidents and Zero inventories.

  1. Cost Elements in Manufacturing.
  2. Challenges Of Planning LEAN Manufacturing.
  3. How The LEAN Software Measures LEAN.

Cost Elements In Manufacturing

The cost structure of each WIP in each Process and cost of the Final Product y can be represented as follows:

Each of these ‘Six Cost Elements’ have both Technical / Operational Measurements as well as their equivalent Cost Measurements. For example, it is possible to calculate the Cost of the Technical / Operational indices and produce the following relationships in the TABLE for both the Final Product as well as a WIP at any process. As each Product is manufactured over multiple processes, any WIP losses incurred in a mid-process also incurs the value-added losses accumulated over the completed processes.

Cost Of Each WIP (Example Only) $6.74 Remarks
Preceding Stage Cost $5.07 Valued added costs of previous process stages.
Direct Labor Costs $0.20 Operators, Inspectors, Technicians, Supervisors.
Direct Production Expenses $0.13 Electricity, Gas energy used in the Process and machines.
Production Material Losses $0.04 Damaged, expired, wasted, spilled, remnants.
Production Material Costs $0.30 Actual cost of material used per piece of WIP.
Machine Performance Losses $0.14 Slowed speed, frequent breakdowns and setup times and jams in automated systems resulting in less output produced.
Process Yield Losses $0.18 Scrapped due to failed quality standards.
Production Overhead Costs $0.35 Depreciation, Repairs & Maintenance, indirect staff, floor space rental, property taxes, indirect production materials, etc…
Factory Overhead Costs $0.33 Overhead costs incurred by the support, administrative and management staffs.

Challenges Of Planning LEAN Manufacturing

In a typical scenario, the Managing Director of Manufacturer XZ announced to his staff that their Total Product Cost has to go down 8% per year for the next 3 years in order to maintain their Heads to submit plans so that the Company can achieve this 8% cost-reduction goal.

The MD’s request was met with a muted response as none of his Department Heads are able to be very specific about cost-reduction initiatives except for perhaps, reduction in headcounts, budgets cuts on Repair and Maintenance where the costs are already measurement in dollars.

On the other hand, many important technical / operational cost-reduction initiatives such as those listed below have no easy convertibility to COST.

  • Reducing the scrap by improving the Process Yield %.
  • Increasing the machine uptime by reducing breakdowns, setups, jams, etc…
  • Reducing the material wastages in the Production processes.
  • Improving efficiency of energy consumption in certain processes.
  • Improving the process flow and reducing the cycle time.

As a result, LEAN Projects planning are seldom specific enough in terms of meeting budget goals. They often continued to be expressed only in their relevant technical / operational measures. Their eventual impact on the cost-reduction goal is also seldom verifiable.

Especially in mature industries, competition tends to be extremely keen and over the years, the obvious or so-called, low-hanging fruits are all but exhausted. Manufacturers run out of ideas for improvements to achieve further cost reductions. The use of the LEAN Target Costing System will enable manufacturers to ferret out the higher-hanging fruits that are usually not obvious otherwise.

How The LEAN Software Measures LEAN

The LEAN Software is a software solution for Lean Manufacturing Planning. Existing Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP) and Manufacturing Resource Planning (MRP) solutions provide manufacturers with effective and efficient integration of Finance and other business processes with Production Scheduling and Inventory Control. The LEAN Software is a CIP (Continuous Improvement Planning) Software which provide Manufacturers with enhanced ability to plan effective cost-reduction improvement projects to achieve LEAN manufacturing.

The LEAN Software can be used by ANY manufacturer for enterprise-level Continuous Improvement project planning for Product Cost-reduction.

It breakdowns the Total Product cost into equivalent process-level cost details in relation to technical + operational data such as – a) Machine performance b) Material usage c) Overheads d) Energy consumption e) Labor inefficiencies.

The LEAN Software takes input information that is commonly available from the Accounting and Operation Departments. Though some customization of INPUTs is required across different industry-types and the Process Engine Software is generic.

It is web-based to provide everyone in the enterprise (Top Management, Managers, Executives and Engineers) access to accurate product cost information that is related to detailed Process-level technical and operational promotes organizational alignment to achieve the LEAN organization.

The LEAN Software works in 3 steps. In Step 1, a standard set of commonly available Selling Price, Profit Margin %, Accounting and Operational data is keyed into a user-friendly customized Input-interface screen.

In Step-2, the LEAN Software process engine digests the input data to produce informative reports at enterprise and individual process levels. These reports relate cost / technical / operational indices together at each process. This provide Managers, executives and engineers with critical information for detailed and meaningful planning which includes:

  • Selection of significant improvement-projects to achieve the cost-reduction goal.
  • Identifying Key Improvement Concepts for each selected project.
  • Quantifying the amount of improvement target (technical or operational indices) for each selected project and the expected cost-reduction potential.

The cost-reduction impact on process cost and overall product cost can be simulated by inputting these improvement targets into the Lean Target Costing System.

Lean Target Costing system operates in real-time. As each month’s data from Accounting, Operations and Project Team are entered, the system publishes updated current-month status of costs / operational / technical / project team’s status in an integrated and related manner.

Lean Target Costing Comparisons

3 Target Costing in FI Pillar of TPM